Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation

About the place

Pimpri Chinchwad is a suburb located in the outskirts of Pune. Although it belongs to the Pune Metropolitan Region it got detached from the Pune Municipal Corporation in 1982. Initially, it resembled a rural India but prior independence, with the birth of rapid industrialization the modern area got build up. With a population of around 1.8 million, Pimpri Chinchwad has a dwelling area of  70 square miles. It is located at 15km northwest of Pune at 1740ft above sea level. Along with Pimpri Chinchwad, the cantonment area of Pune, the Dehu Roadways and the Khadki region encompasses under Pune Metropolitan Region. This establishment is very much renowned for holding the development of some versatile industrialization. It hosts some automotive and manufacturing industry which goes on to make Pune an Automobile Manufacturing hub of India. 

Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation 

On 11th October 1982, Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation got established after detaching itself from the Pune Municipal Corporation. This municipal corporation is located in the suburbs of Pune. Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation entails the industrial region of Chinchwad, Akurdi, Pimpri and Bhosari. On that very day, the area got detached from the Haveli Taluka and founded itself into the latest and 15th Taluka of Pune district. The Municipal Corporation of Pimpri Chinchwad is very well known for its industrial stretch and growing population. It is one of the most populated Municipalities of Maharashtra. 

Currently, you will nowhere see the rural areas, the PCMC holds a thick urban belt which contributes the maximum of Pune Urban Agglomeration. The rapid growth of the automotive and manufacturing industries has made it one of India’s largest industrial zone. The Municipal Corporation of Pimpri Chinchwad is an undisputed civic province and has contributed immensely to the industrial growth of Pune making it the second-largest Industrial setup after Mumbai.

The executive office of the municipality is held by an IAS officer and Municipal Commissioner who is appointed by the Maharashtra Government. The headquarter of PCMC is located at the centre region of Pune city at Old Pune Mumbai Highway. The Municipal Corporation has a general body of 128 councillors also called as Corporators. These corporators are lead by a Mayor. As per 2020, Mrs Usha Manohar Dohre is the Mayor of Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation. The post of Municipal Commissioner is held by IAS Mr Shravan Hardikar. 


The foundation stone of industrialisation was laid in 1954 at Pimpri Chinchwad with the establishment of Hindustan Antibiotics, the first Pharmaceuticals company of Government of India. In the mid-’50s the boosting growth turned the lush greenery of the Pune Mumbai Highway into an industrial stretch. In 1960 the Maharashtra Industrial Development Corporation was founded with an aim of setting up several companies and thus boost up the socio-economic growth of the country.

With the commencement of 70s, on March 4, 1970, the foundation stone of Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation was laid by Annasaheb Magar. The new municipal corporation included the zone of Akurdi, Chinchwad, Bhosari and Pimpri itself. In the year 1972, the plan for the establishment of a modern and well-facilitated township was formed as the Pimpri Chinchwad New Town Development Authority. Then three years later in 1975, Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation was promoted from C class to A class. Later in the year 1982, a major amalgamation took place as seven neighbouring villages and the PCNTDA region merged under the Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation.


The PiPimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation is a local body and is underlined by the civic administration. It comprises of two branches, the one which is the executive branch headed by a Municipal Commissioner who is an IAS officer appointed by the Government of Maharashere. The second one is the elected deliberative body where a Mayor is ahead. Every five years when the Municipal elections are held, councillors are elected to represent the wards. The councillors, who are also known as the corporators, come together to form the general body of the Municipal Corporation. These councillors elect the Mayor and the Deputy Mayor from among themselves. The Municipal Commissioner is however appointed by the state government and also holds the position of Executive officer of the city.

In 1970, the Pimpri Chinchwad New Town Development Authority (PCNTDA) was founded in order to boost up the growth of the town as the urbanisation stepped in the township and was veiling it up with the air of industrialisation. The Pune Metropolitan Region Development Authority wanted to merge the PCNTDA soon after it’s formation but it took years of delay. The city was awarded as the best performing city by JNNURM. It was known to have bagged a plethora of applause for its outstanding performance as a city and of its being a great inspiration for  other budding cities out there.

The law agency body of Pimpri Chinchwad happens to be located at Pune and is known as Pimpri Chinchwad Police. It is a subsidiary body of Maharashtra police department and was founded on 15th August of 2018. The Pimpri Chinchwad Police is headed by a Police Commissioner appointed by the state government who happens to be an IPS officer.

Executive Department 

The executive officer of the Municipal Corporation is an IAS officer appointed by the Government of Maharashtra. The executive officer holds the position of Municipal Commissioner in the city. The Municipal Commissioner is appointed as per Section 36 of Maharashtra Municipal Corporation Act, 1949. The Municipal Commissioners also is the director of the public transports company.

Administrative Zone

There is an Assistant to the Municipal Commissioner curates the administrative office. The municipality of Pimpri Chinchwad is divided into eight administrative zones which have four electoral wards each.

Deliberative Department

Now the deliberative department of the Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation is lead by the Mayor. The Municipal election contested amidst the major political parties brings out the councillors also known as Corporators. The city of Pimpri has a division of around 32 wards. In each ward, 4 corporators are ordained. These councillors together form the General body of PCMC. Hence there are 128  corporators. These corporators then unanimously elect the Mayor which is a ceremonial event. They also appoint a Deputy Mayor. The Mayor has got a limited share of work and has the major responsibility of representing his township or city. The Mayor also looks out at the budget plan for the city and have a watch at how the policies are being executed by the members and staffs under the Municipal Commissioner.